• awards19 release19  
    2016 Senior Video Completed!
     Zombie attack at the Career Center! Watch Trailer  |  Full Video
     Media Broadcasting Students Take Top Honors at NYC Event
     WPPB Trophy Winners
     WPPB Trophy Winners, from left: Hannah Gallant, SR, PHS; Alyson Ballard, JR, PVHS; Amanda Orr, JR, WHS; Mackenzie Owens, JR, PHS; Steven Timms, JR, BHP. (Winners not pictured: Rebekah Davenport, SR, PHS; Dylan Webb, SR, BHP; Gracie Beddingfield, JR, PHS)
    On March 4 through 6, Mr. Boone and seven Media Broadcasting Students and WPPB The Pulse staff members attended the 76th Annual Intercollegiate Broadcasting System National Conference and Awards Program in New York City.
    WPPB won first-place trophies – Best in the Nation – in three categories: Hannah Gallant (PHS) for Best Show Liner, Alyson Ballard (PVHS) for Best Public Service Announcement, and Gracie Beddingfield (PHS) and Steven Timms (BHP) for Best Podcast.

    Finalist trophies, for being in the top 10% in the nation in their category, went to Hannah Gallant (PHS) for Best News Feature, Gallant and Dylan Webb (BHP) for Most Creative Show, Webb for Best Event Promo, Rebekah Davenport (PHS) for Best Newscast, and Amanda Orr (WHS) and Mackenzie Owens (PHS) for Best Podcast.

    mb  mb

    Media Broadcasting Students Win Several Awards
    Congratulations to our Media Broadcasting students winning 6 of 9 entries in the Terri Hemmert High School Student Radio/Audio Competition.  Awards will be given away in Chicago on October 17th at Columbia College.  The MB instructor, Mr. Boone, will accompany some of the winners to Chicago to receive their awards.  MB has now won 11 awards in its first two competitions, including 4 first place.
    Cassandra Cob, WHS "Thicker than Blood" & Hannah Gallant, PHS "This I Believe-Support Regardless" tied for 1st Place Radio Essay
    Dylan Webb, BHP "Sea World" Second Place for Radio Essay
    Savannah Martin, BHP "Somebody's Mama" Honorable Mention for Radio Eassy
    Canaan Acebal, WHS and Kaleb Ballentine, WHS "KC Productions" Honorable Mention for Podcast for Portable Audio Media
    Canaan Acebal, WHS "Cell Phone Repair" Honorable Mention for Radio Station Promotion/Production  
    Media Broadcasting Students Win United Way Video Competition
    Juniors in the Media Broadcasting program won a video competition to create a new video for the United Way's new "Frame Our Future" campaign. 
    Under the direction of their Media Broadcasting instructor, Winston Cely, the following students worked many hours before the end of last school year and into the summer to create this video!  PVHS students:  Matthew Jordan, Jakobe Bufford and Gabi Davis, PHS student:  JR Cilli, WHS student Leslie Frutos, and BHP student:  Malik Sanders.
    The video will be used by the United Way to kick off their 2015-2016 campaign.  It will be sent to various college campuses and other United Way offices.   
    2015 Senior video created by students in the Media Broadcasting program.